David Essig A Stone In My Pocket

2 cd set
To celebrate 35 years of songwriting, recording and performing, DAVID invited OLIVER SCHROER (violin) and TOBIN FRANK (bass) into his Watershed Studio on Thetis Island, BC. Together, the trio arranged and recorded brand new versions of 30 of David's original songs - from She Burned Up in the Footlights, written in the late 60's, to the title track, A Stone in My Pocket, composed by David just before the recording sessions.

Here's what DAVID has to say about A STONE IN MY POCKET:

We went through all of the songs that I'd recorded since my career in Canada started in 1971 and picked 30 pieces that have a contemporary ring to them and that, most of all, express a sense of hope and human compassion. It was great to go back and visit some of these old songs again, especially with Oliver and Tobin along for the ride.
Once the trio sessions were completed, I went back into the studio on my own for a couple of months and added over 100 additional parts - mostly on slide guitar and steel. I finally got a chance to lay down some of the tasty licks that I'd been hearing in my head over the years. I'm really pleased with the way that I could 'weave' my parts in around Oliver's fiddle and Tobin's bass. I think we got this one right.

Until recently, David was signed to a European label with his CDs available in Canada as direct imports only. A STONE IN MY POCKET marks David's first made-in-Canada release in over a decade. David adds: We really wanted this CD project to come out in Canada first, to reflect how central this country has been to my songwriting over the years. Working with the Europeans was great, but it's exciting to be on home ground again with this new CD.
DISC ONE: 1968-1984

1. Falling
2. Woman In The Snow
3. Circus Song
4. Flo's Cafe
5. Albert's Cove
6. Lord, We Loved Her
7. She Burned Up In The Footlights
8. play Rebel Flag
9. While Living In The Good Years
10.Stewart Crossing
11.Highland Clearances
12.Mexico Suite
13.Blues For Giulietta
14.The Great Wall Of China
15.Paint Me A Picture

DISC TWO: 1985-2003

1. Walk Back Into Town
2. Quiet Money
3. The Way Hate Walks
4. Mary...Texas Mix Waltz
5. Charity Begins At Home
6. Tremble and Weep
7. The Cross and the Fountain
8. The Wild Girl
9. Tampa
10.Dan and Betty
11.Declaration Day
12.Fair Days
13.There But For
14.Long Sweet Ride
15.A Stone In My Pocket