Great Speckled Bird
self titled

Reissued 2006 on CCM-702

Ampex label (Ampex A10103)
original CD Release Date: Jan 17, 1995
Label: Stony Plain (Canada)


(From Great Speckled Bird was a pioneering country-rock band that originated in Canada in 1969. Ian and Sylvia (Ian Tyson and Sylvia Tyson), a well-known folk duo who rose to popularity in the early sixties, began making records in Nashville around 1968. Ian and Sylvia wanted to form their own band that played in a progressive country style. They formed Great Speckled Bird (there was no "the" in front of it), a group that was part of the country-rock movement that emerged in the late 1960s and early 1970s.

Original members of the band were: Amos Garrett, guitar; Bill Keith, steel guitar; Ken Kalmusky, bass and Ricky Marcus, drums. Ian and Sylvia were the lead vocalists and Ian played guitar. Sylvia sometimes played piano. One of the most interesting aspects of the group was that it was rarely recognized by the media by its correct name.

Ian and Sylvia Tyson were so well-known as a duo that it seemed to be impossible to merge their identity into a country-rock band. All you have to do is take a look at the LP on Ampex and you will see their intentions for the group's name. It seemed the media was determined to reject the idea. This trend continues today in much of the reviews of the film Festival Express.

If mentioned at all, the group is either referred to as "Ian and Sylvia and the Great Speckled Bird" or just as "Ian and Sylvia." Of course, Ian and Sylvia finally gave up on the idea with their Columbia LP You Were On My Mind. In 1969 Bill Keith was replaced on steel guitar by Buddy Cage and Ricky Marcus was replaced on drums by N.D. Smart.

They recorded their first LP, Great Speckled Bird, in Nashville that year. It was issued on the new Ampex label (Ampex A10103) produced by Todd Rundgren, and engineered by Charlie Tallent. On those sessions, David Briggs played piano and Norbert Putnam played bass. Great Speckled Bird had their own logo designed by Walt Kelly, the cartoonist who created the comic strip Pogo.

Songs are: Love What You’re Doin’ Child; Calgary; Trucker’s Café; Long Long Time To Get Old; Flies In The Bottle; Bloodshot Beholder; Crazy Arms; This Dream, Smiling Wine; Rio Grande; Disappearing Woman; We Sail0

1. Love What You're Doing Child
2. Calgary
3. Truckers Cafe
4. Long Long Time To Get Old
5. Flies In The Bottle
6. Bloodshot Beholder
7. Crazy Arms
8. This Dream
9. Smiling Wine
10. Rio Grande
11. Disapearing Woman
12. We Sail
13. New Truckers Cafe (Live Bonus Track)