John Gogo

John Gogo Leave A Light On

only 1 used cd in great condition

Released August 1997, this album was produced by Wayne Loronz (Daniel Lanois, Emmylou Harris, Slingblade soundtrack), David Kershaw (Sarah Mclachlan, Wild Strawberries) and John Gogo.

The majority of the album was recorded October 16-29 1995 with Sean Ashby (electric guitar, lap steel guitar, mandolin), Paul Brennan (drums, percussion), John Gogo (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric 12 string guitar), David Kershaw (B3 organ, Wurlitzer piano, accordion, percussion) and Brian Minato (bass guitar, string bass, Wurlitzer piano). These 5 musicians were joined for the two weeks by Wayne Lorenz. Additional recording took place later with Luke Doucet (electric guitar),Tommy Gogo (vocals, Mellotron), Camille Henderson (vocals) and Daniel Lapp (trumpet). John & David Kershaw produced these sessions. The recording was done at David's studio (The Glass Elevator) in Vancouver. David and Wayne recorded it and David mixed it. The album was mastered by Craig Waddell at Gotham City Studios, Vancouver. Songs 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, & 11 are published by Boulder Creek Publishing and Shaunsongs. Songs 4, 6, 7, & 10 published by Boulder Creek Publishing. Cold Cold Ground is published by Jalma Music (admin. by Ackee Music). All Songs are SOCAN except Cold Cold Ground is ASCAP.

John Gogo It Never Fails

Currently Not In Stock

Released 1994, this album was produced by Bob Benson and John Gogo. Published by Boulder Creek Publishing, Shaunsongs Publishing and ATV Music. All songs are SOCAN.

It Never Fails was recorded in three steps. In January '93 John Gogo and Bob Benson started working on a three song demo at Seacoast Sound studio in Victoria (this would remain the studio for the rest of the recording and mixing of It Never Fails). The three songs were It Never Fails, String of Pearls, and For Now We Say Good-bye (aka The Ghost of Clarence Balance, a tune John plans to include on Coal & Wood when that album is remastered and released on CD).
The band consisted of John on vocals and acoustic guitar, David Kershaw on Hammond organ, Brian Minato on bass and Ashwin Sood on drums ( Daniel Lapp played fiddle on "For Now..."). These three songs were entered in a local radio station contest (100.3 the Q's Rocktoria) and John won. The Prize was an opportunity to record three songs at Seacoast Sound with Bob Benson (!). With Jerry Adolphe on drums, Brent Gubbels (John's cousin) on bass, Ron Willes on electric guitar and David Kershaw on organ John recorded I'm Sorry Now and re-cut It Never Fails.

They also recorded Bill Henderson's Baby Blue with Bill himself on guitar. Bill's daughter Camille Henderson provided bg vocals. With these three songs plus String of Pearls (For Now We Say Good-bye was saved for later) John figured he my as well make a full album. Brian, Ash and David were brought back over from Vancouver and with John and Bob recorded I Don't Even Know Her, Riverside (with Camille on vocals for both), I Can't Tell You, No Reason or Rhyme, When You Fall and Don't Break It. Shaun Wilson played electric guitar on tracks 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, & 8. Bob Benson mixed it and Mark Franklin mastered the album at Media Magic.

John Gogo Coal & Wood

on cassette only

Currently Not In Stock

Released 1990, this album was produced by John Gogo and Sid Perez All songs published by Boulder Creek Publishing. All songs SOCAN.