Mike Allen Trio
One Step Closer


"Tenormen Mike Allen and John Nugent know their bebop. Allen's One Step Closer and Nugent's West Of Flatbush evoke the magic of those old Blue Note discs, the eager anticipation as you dropped the needle on the wax, the smile on your face as the notes swarmed in the air. That joy is present on much of these discs. This is not the powpowpow up'nadam fastfasterfastest Be-bop. This is more modal, more introspective, and most invigorating performances. Mike Allen's renderings of Milestones and Body And Soul both offer lilting behind the beat tenor, and the infectiousness of Down The Line is the type of refrain that will go through your head for days."

Mike Allen (tenor saxophone)
Brad Turner (trumpet & flugelhorn)
Miles Black (piano)
André Lachance (bass)
Dylan van der Schyff (drums)

1.One Step Closer
2.I Hear a Rhapsody
5.Morning on Carmine Street
7.Body and Soul
8.Down the Line