Lilith Fair A Celebration Of Women In Music V.2

Release Date: May 18, 1999
Label: Arista Records 1999  Lilith Fair Volume 2


Hurting from criticism that few soul or R&B artists made the festival's prior circuit, the 1998 Lilith roundup included artists like Queen Latifah, Angelique Kidjo and Morcheeba for a dose of hip-hop, trip-hop and rich African rhythm. An even better collection than the first, this Lilith Fair rounds up the key up-and-coming artists--Bic Runga, Heather Nova, Holly McNarland--and balances their selections out with veterans like Cowboy Junkies, Sinead O'Connor and Natalie Merchant.McLachlan herself turns in a stirring performance of her top ten hit "Angel," with gray-haired goddess Emmylou Harris helping out on vocals. Heather Nova's "Island" is an unearthly, gorgeous ride, as is Morcheeba's "The Sea"--God bless singer Skye Edwards milk-and-honey vocals. With an innovative spin on eclectic artists and selections, LILITH FAIR: A CELEBRATION OF WOMEN AND MUSIC VOLUME 2 is well worth adding to any record collection.

Artist: Angelique Kidjo, Bic Runga, Cowboy Junkies, Heather Nova, Holly McNarland, Lisa Loeb, Morcheeba, Natalie Merchant, Sarah McLachlan, Shawn Colvin, Sinead O'Connor, Tracy Bonham, Various Artists, Wild Strawberries
1. Fire On Babylon - Sinead O'Connor
2. Never Know - Angelique Kidjo
3. Life - Queen Latifah
4. Island - Heather Nova
5. New Thing Now - Shawn Colvin
6. Angel - Sarah McLachlan/Emmylou Harris
7. Sea, The - Morcheeba
8. I Do - Lisa Loeb
9. Sway - Bic Runga
10. In The Ghetto - Natalie Merchant
11. Miles From Our Home - Cowboy Junkies
12. Meat Hook - Tracy Bonham
13. Elmo - Holly McNarland
14. Trampoline - Wild Strawberries